La Jolla’s WindanSea Surf Club wins championship at Malibu Surfing Association Classic Invitational

La Jolla’s WindanSea Surf Club (WSC) earned the overall championship at the 2014 Malibu Surfing Association Classic Invitational and four members of the WindanSea Surf Club also achieved first place in their divisions.

With many calling it the best contest conditions at Malibu in 25 years, the Malibu Surfing Association (MSA) Classic Invitational Sept. 5-7, 2014 went off in consistent, shoulder-to-overhead surf under sunny skies, a superb field of competitors, and smiles all around. Members of WSC took first place in four of 13 individual divisions and WSC also won the prestigious club-overall championship crown. The win was WSC’s second this season and the second time in three years it has won the MSA event, held at First Point, Surfrider Beach in Malibu, Calif.

The Hawai’i Longboard Association finished second and took two individual titles including the highly competitive Men 20-29 (Matthew Pasamonte, Maui,) and Women 14-19 (Honolua Blomfield, Oahu).

The Oceanside Longboard Surfing Club, host MSA, and Malibu Boardriders Club rounded out the top five.

While there were any number of top-shelf performances, the standout memory may have been the surf — in particular a 20-wave, overhead set Sunday afternoon for the Mens 30-39 finals. With 200-yard rides through First Point on the offer, world-champion and division winner Joel Tudor (WSC), along with finalists Mike Melchiorre (VLF, NC), CJ Nelson (MSA, CA), Matt Cuddihy (NMC, AU), JP Garcia (SBSC, CA) and Jeff Belzer (VSC, CA) traded hoots and high-fives throughout the heat while showcasing the high standard of traditional longboarding.

During the first day of the Invitational, MSA welcomed SurfAid, the humanitarian face of surfing and the event’s official charity partner, as they returned to First Point for the SurfAid Cup Malibu.

The tag-team SurfAid Cup Malibu fundraiser was blessed with luminaries of the surfing community and team participants who individually raised money to support SurfAid programs: building stronger communities in the Mentawai, Nias, Telos and Banyak Islands off Sumatra, Indonesia. An initial estimate read by SurfAid founder Dave Jenkins at the award ceremony tallied more than $120,000, a record for a US SurfAid Cup.

— La Jollans who took first places in their divisions include:

• Men 13 & Under: Gus Day of WindanSea Surf Club

• Men 14-19: Ricky Cunningham of WindanSea Surf Club

• Men 30-39: Joel Tudor of WindanSea Surf Club

• Men 60-69: Ron Greene of Pacific Beach Surf Club

• Women 20-34: Jen Smith of WindanSea Surf Club

Complete results from the 2014 Malibu Surfing Association Classic Invitational at

Windansea Surf Club information at