Van Inwegen to lead council

Earl Van Inwegen was elected president of the La Jolla Town Council at the group’s monthly meeting last week.

Other new officers are Bob Collins, first vice president; Dan Courtney, second vice president; John Donaldson, treasurer, and Cindy Thorsen, secretary.

Outgoing president Darcy Ashley said it was an " honor to be president.”

Termed-out trustee Trenton Bonner was cited for his exemplary performance.

“Whenever there was a need, he could always be counted upon,” said Ashley.

In other action, the community advisory group approved changes to update bylaws for its Conditional Development Permit (CDP) and newly named Development Permit Review (DPR) committees.

John Rivera, District 1 Councilwoman Sherri Lightner’s new chief of staff, was introduced.

Thyme Curtis, council rep for Kevin Faulconer whose District 2 includes parts of Mount Soledad, invited the public to attend the councilman’s State of the District address to be at 6:30 p.m. on April 27 at Old Town Theater.

John Weil, chief of staff for county Supervisor Pam Slater-Price, reported that the county has broken ground on a new operations center in Kearny Mesa which will cost about $500 million. He added that the project will create 3,500 new jobs and be paid for with help from the federal stimulus package.