Students honored at ‘Hope of America’


At a program titled ‘Hope of America’ last Friday, the La Jolla Kiwanis honored 10 outstanding fourth- and fifth-graders selected by their classroom teachers at three local public elementary schools.

Essays that the teachers wrote about the students were read during the Kiwanis luncheon with the student’s family and school principal present.

Honored students and their schools: La Jolla Elementary — Gabriella Anastasi, Christina Gaffney, Aaron Oliver and Shane Pauker; Torrey Pines Elementary — Abigail Cho, Sarah Elizabeth Espinoza and Isabella Venancia Gardner; Bird Rock Elementary — Lili Davis, Dane Gregory Hansen and Lindsey Gartner.

Honored students, who were cited not only for their scholarship but their leadership and citizenship as well, received engraved plaques and savings bonds.