Researchers noted for work

A number of local researchers have been recognized for their work in the last few weeks.

American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Four UCSD professors have been elected members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.
  • La Jollan William James McGinnis is Distinguished Professor, Section of Cell and Developmental Biology and holds the Herbert Stern Chair in Biology.
  • Joel Sobel, also of La Jolla, is a professor of Economics.
  • Forman Arthur Williams is professor of engineering, physics and combustion and director of the UCSD Center for Energy and Combustion Research.
  • Kimberly Prather is a professor of chemistry and biochemistry and a professor at Scripps Institution of Oceanography.
The new fellows and foreign honorary members are among 229 leaders in the sciences, the humanities and the arts, business, public affairs and the nonprofit sector who join one of the world’s most prestigious honorary societies.

National Academy of Sciences

Professors from UCSD and The Salk Institute were elected to membership in the prestigious National Academy of Sciences.
  • Susan S. Golden is a distinguished professor in the molecular biology section at UCSD and co-director of the university’s new Center for Chronobiology.

- Terrence J. Sejnowski, a professor in the neurobiology section at UCSD, is also The Francis Crick Professor at the Salk Institute for Biological Studies, head of its Computational Neurobiology Laboratory and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator.

  • Jack Keil Wolf, a professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the Jacobs School of Engineering and the Stephen O. Rice Professor of Magnetics at UCSD.
They are among the 72 new members and 18 foreign associates elected this year “in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.”

American Philosophical Society

La Jolla’s Fred H. Gage, a professor in the Laboratory for Genetics and the Vi and John Adler Chair for Research on Age-Related Neurodegenerative Diseases at The Salk Institute, has been elected to the American Philosophical Society (APS). Founded in 1743 by Benjamin Franklin and modeled after the Royal Society of London, the APS was the first organization in America to promote scientific endeavors and knowledge.

Gage, one of the most highly cited neuroscientists worldwide, joins a distinguished group of former members who include Albert Einstein, Charles Darwin, Thomas Edison and a group of past and present Salk faculty members.