Plan group sets election

A special election will be held Dec. 4 to fill the remaining term of a trustee on the La Jolla Community Planning Association.

Only the 420 qualified members of the group will be able to vote when the election is held in conjunction with the regular meeting that day. Voting opens at 3 p.m. and closes at 7 p.m.

The candidates are Dan Courtney, Ryan Hill and Greg Salmon.

Courtney, currently a member of the La Jolla Town Council and a former chairman of the La Jolla Shore Association, has been active in fighting the Hillel and Chabad projects. He was among those who opposed paid parking in the Village.

Hill is a third generation La Jollan who is a builder with a background in engineering. A member of the WindanSea Surf Club and La Jolla Historical Society, he says he is interesting in protecting the historical value of La Jolla.

Salmon had not submitted a biography by press time.