Opinion: Hardworking La Jollans deserve thanks

By Joe LaCava

President, La Jolla Community Planning Association

Before Thanksgiving fades from our memory and we head into the year-end holidays, I want to offer one last list of what I am thankful for. I hope the community agrees and joins me in thanking …

— The trustees of your community planning group: Tony Crisafi (vice president, chair of DPR), Nancy Manno (secretary), Jim Fitzgerald (treasurer), Michele Addington, Tom Brady, Devin Burstein, Laura Ducharme Conboy, Mike Costello, Dan Courtney, Orrin Gabsch, David Little, Tim Lucas, Phil Merten, Glen Rasmussen, Greg Salmon, Ray Weiss, and Rob Whittemore.

— As well as those who serve on your planning group’s subcommittees: Lynne Hayes, Beth Gaenzle, John A. Frangos, Diane Kane, Angeles Liera, Cindy Thorsen, Pancho Dewhurst, Cristull Hasson, Jennifer Clark, Deborah Marengo, Trent Wagenseller, Joe Parker, Ione Stiegler (chair of PDO), Michael Morton, John Schenk, Helen Boyden (chair of PRC), Ed Furtek, Betty Morrison, Dale Neagle, Rob Hildt, Van Inwegan, Joe Dicks, Todd Lesser (chair of T&T), Patrick Ryan, and George Sutton.

— I especially want to highlight Tony, Ione, Helen, and Todd for thoughtful leadership of their subcommittees as well as Nancy and Jim for their tireless efforts as secretary and treasurer. Not to be forgotten are those working under the radar: Cindy Thorsen (membership), Bob Barto (room setup), and others that help make our community planning process more effective.

— Last and certainly not least, I want to thank the 260 of you that took the time to attend at least one of our planning group meetings this year and participate in our community’s review process.

If you are interested in running for a seat on the planning group, you only have the December, January and February meetings to meet the minimum requirement of having attended at least three meetings in the 12 months (March 2010 through February 2011) prior to the March election. Furthermore, please make sure your membership is current, or join for the first time, so that you can vote in the March elections when we fill one-third of the planning group seats.

Our next meeting is tonight, Dec. 2 at 6 p.m., at the La Jolla Recreation Center.

Learn more about your planning group at

or email us if you have questions or concerns at