Nine La Jolla student athletes named to All-San Diego teams

La Jolla High School Viking pitcher Timmy Holdgrafer was named The San Diego Union-Tribune Baseball Player of the Year and added to the All-San Diego Section first team. Boasting a .456 batting average and 1.31 Earned Run Average (58 strikeouts in 59 innings), Holdgrafer made his mark behind the bat and on the mound. The athletes were selected by a panel of media, coaches and advisors under the auspices of the San Diego Hall of Champions.

■ Other La Jolla High Vikings named to the first or second team:

• Senior Joe Palatella: first team boys volleyball

• Sophomore Audrey Chan: first team badminton

• Junior Dane Pieper: second team boys volleyball

■ From The Bishop’s School:

• Senior Neil Lunsford: second team boys lacrosse

• Senior Chris Alleyne: second team boys volleyball

■ From La Jolla Country Day School:

• Senior outfielder Alfonso Rivas: first team baseball

• Senior infielder Dylan Robertson: second team baseball

• Freshman pitcher Lauren Dvorak: second team softball