MoPa members attend Lou Stoumen Prize ceremony


Museum of Photographic Arts’ members gathered at the museum earlier this month to celebrate the fifth winner -- Mikhael Subotzky -- of the Lou Stoumen Prize. The prize granted Subotzky, who is a South African photographer, a substantial monetary sum that will help him further his career. Subotzky wasn’t able to attend the event, but spoke to members via a video.

Stoumen’s family members attended the event, which included a welcome from MoPA executive director Deborah Klochko and MoPA board president and La Jolla resident Gail Bryan as well as a VIP reception featuring hors d’oeuvres made by Indulge Catering. Members and guests were also invited to view the museum’s current exhibitions including “Lou Stoumen: The Naked Truth,” “Lou Stoumen Award Winners: The Legacy,” “Considering Edward Curtis” and “Edward Steichen: The Early Years.”

Stoumen, who was a photographer and documentary filmmaker, established the endowed gift with MoPA in 1991. The award is given through the museum to a mid-career photographer whose work relates in spirit to Stoumen’s own humanistic style of photography. Previous recipients of the award include Debbie Fleming Caffery (1996), Kenro Izu (1999), James Nachtwey (2002) and Gary Schneider (2006).

Purchase Photos