Local students win National Merit Scholarships


Six La Jolla students were recently named National Merit Scholarship winners. A total of 2,500 distinguished high school seniors were chosen from approximately 15,000 students nationwide.

Each student was judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills and potential for success at the collegiate level and was awarded a $2,500 scholarship.

From La Jolla High School, the distinguished seniors were Bryce Mitsunaga, James Giammona and Nazc-a-ru Gonzalez. Honored from Bishop’s were Gene Merewether, Naomi Wagner and Henry Su.