Light, La Jolla Town Council to co-sponsor candidate debates

The La Jolla Town Council and the

La Jolla Light

have agreed to co-sponsor a series of debates featuring candidates running for city offices. The debates are scheduled for 6 p.m. on April 22, and May 13 and for 6:30 p.m. on May 9. All will be at the La Jolla High School Parker Auditorium.

The April 22 debate will feature candidates for the first district city council seat being vacated by Council President Scott Peters. The candidates are Phil Thalheimer, Sherri Lightner and Marshall Merrifield.

The May 9 debate is for mayoral candidates. They are Eric Bidwell, Steve Francis, James B. Hart, Floyd L. Morrow and Jerry Sanders.

The May 13 debate is for city attorney candidates. They are Michael Aguirre, Jan Goldsmith, Amy Lepine, Brian Maienschein and Scott Peters

City-wide elections are to be held June 3. If any candidate receives a majority of the vote, he or she is elected. If no candidate receives a majority, the top two vote getters will appear on the Nov. 4 general election ballot.

Readers are invited to submit debate questions in advance of the debates to


The debate moderators are yet to be announced.