La Jolla Youth Baseball gears up for diamond anniversary


La Jolla Youth Baseball started in La Jolla in 1952, but not much is known about the early years. As the LJYB board and volunteers plan for its 60th season, a concerted effort will be made to reach out to the players and supporters of prior eras and ask that people help fill in the blanks. It seems fitting that LJYB would celebrate their Diamond Anniversary with great fanfare, given the game is played on a diamond. The question remains, what is the best way to account for the past six decades?

A couple of weeks ago, LJYB set up a new Facebook page and is asking everyone with a history or relationship with the organization to “Like” the La Jolla Youth Baseball page. There is a link to the page on if one does not have a Facebook account. On the website is a digital photo album and people are encouraged to upload any vintage photos from LJYB teams and players. The photos are being maintained by decade so please upload any photos with the identifying information: team/player/year and add background information as needed. LJYB will not tag photos — that should be done by the individuals in the photos.

Entering into the 60th season, LJYB is as strong as it’s ever been. Last season there were 425 kids ages 4-14 playing in Shetland, Pinto, Mustang, Bronco and Pony divisions, with all games being played on the beautiful fields at Cliffridge Park. LJYB is a classic recreational league that encourages players of any ability to participate — assuming they want to learn, improve and enjoy the game of baseball.

LJYB is led by a group of volunteer parents who are elected to three-year terms and there is no paid staff. At the October meeting, the new board was installed and the following individuals are busy planning for the 2012 season: Jim Benham (President), Tom Murphy (Vice President), Rick Macdonald (Secretary), Dan Ryan (Treasurer), Jim Duffy (At Large), Brian LaGrange (At Large) and Tim Scott (At Large & Past President). Five new league presidents were also appointed: Paul Delmore (Pony), Eric Brown (Bronco), Neil Hyytinen (Mustang), Brad Kates (Pinto) and Greg Hansen (Shetland). Online Registration will open in mid-November. Play Ball!

— Tom Murphy, LJYB