La Jolla Schools will reopen Friday, May 16; here’s a list of the schools that remain closed due to wildfires

All schools in the San Diego Unified School District will be open Friday, May 16, 2014 with the exception of schools in the Mira Mesa and Scripps Ranch neighborhoods.

Those schools will be closed Friday, May 16, due to conditions from nearby brush fires.

The schools closed will be Scripps Ranch High School and Thurgood Marshall Middle School; Dingeman, EB Scripps, Jerabek and Miramar Ranch elementary schools in the Scripps Ranch neighborhood. In the Mira Mesa neighborhood, Mira Mesa High School and Twain Mesa High School, Challenger and Wangenheim middle schools will be closed, along with Ericson, Hage, Hickman, Mason and Walker elementary schools and Walker CDC.

All other schools in the San Diego Unified School District will be open on Friday, May 16, and will have normal bell times. The school district continues to be vigilant and monitor the situation.

Parents and district staff members are receiving automated telephone messages with information on the closure. All schools in the school district were closed on Thursday, May 15, due to fire conditions in San Diego County. It is expected that all schools will be open regular hours on Monday, May 19.

For a map of the school closures, go to

Here are the San Diego County school closures for Friday:

• The San Diego County Office of Education is reporting the following school districts will be


on Friday, May 16:

Bonsall Union

Carlsbad Unified

Escondido Union Elementary

Escondido Union High

Fallbrook Union Elementary

Fallbrook Union High

Oceanside Unified

Poway Unified

San Marcos Unified

San Pasqual Union


Valley Center-Pauma Unified

Vista Unified

Residents are urged to call 2-1-1 for all non-emergency calls and visit

for updates online.