La Jolla schools’ players named to All-CIF, all-league teams


La Jolla Country Day’s Ariana Elegado was named the girls All-CIF basketball Player of the Year by county sports writers and coaches under the auspices of the San Diego Hall of Champions.

She was also the Player of the Year in the Coastal South League.

Elegado led the Torreys to the section girls Division IV championship, averaging 14.2 points, 6.5 assists and 2.2 steals a game over the course of the season. At one point the senior and her team won 23 straight games. She will attend Cal Poly San Luis Obispo in the fall.

Other girls from La Jolla schools on the first-team, All-CIF basketball squad include another Torrey, Maya Hood, and Alissa Campanero from The Bishop’s School. The second-team included Briteesha Soloman, LJCDS, and Elaina White from Bishop’s.

The four were also named to first team All-Coastal League South; Kelsey Plum of LJCDS and Briana Martinez are on the second team.

Bianca Mitchell of La Jolla High was named to second team All-Western League.

Boys Basketball

Player of the Year—Maliik Love (Bishop’s).

First team—Maliik Love (Bishop’s) Sr.; Devyn Iglehart (Horizon) Sr.; Deon Randall (Francis Parker) Sr.; Omar Richards (Horizon) Sr.; Stephen Kaiser (Bishop’s) Jr.

Second team—Dalante Dunklin (Francis Parker) So.; Frankie Bamford (La Jolla Country Day) So.; Mac Biblowitz (Canyon Crest) Sr.; Andrew Greenberg (Francis Parker) Sr.; Sage Burmeister (La Jolla Country Day) Fr.

Girls Water Polo

  • All-CIF — First Team: Gabby Stone and Sammy Peck, Bishop’s; Katie Wood, LJHS. Second team: Sarah Presant and Kirsten Siegel, Bishop’s; Second team: Bridget Souza, LJHS.
  • All-Western League — First Team: Stone, Peck, Woods, Presant; Second team: Siegel, Souza and Katy Feaver, Bishop’, and Victoria Frager, LJHS.
  • All-Central League — First team: Alexandra Rhodes, Savanha Dowling, LJCDS; Second team: Allison Rhodes, LJCDS.

Girls Soccer:

  • All-CIF — First Team: Frances Harvey, Bishop’s; Briana Chapman, LJHS.
  • All-Western League — First team, Chapman, Courtney Volger, LJHS. Second team: Elisa Brooks and Jessica Wood, LJHS.
  • All-Coastal League South — Player of the Year: Frances Harvey, Bishop;s. First team: Harvey, Laura Aguilar, Devan Osequeda, Sarah Noble, all from Bishop’s; Rachel Locke, LJCDS. Second team: Jenn Akin, Dana Christensen, Geny Decker, Elyse Tierney, all from Bishop’s; Ana Cruz, Erika Shephard, both LJCDS.

Boys Soccer:

  • All-CIF — Second team: Alex Fleischhacker, LJCDS.
  • All-Coast League South — Player of the Year: Zach Ostrop, Bishop’s. First team: Tyler Evans, Justin Peabody, Kyle Jester, all from Bishop’s: Dennis Roth and Fleischhacker, both LJCDS. Second team: Stefano Vidali, Adam Malkiewitz, Zach Negroni, all from Bishop’s; Lee Klitzner and Alistair Dobke, LJCDS.
  • All-Western League — First team: Robert Ortiz, LJHS; Second team: Juan Pablo Martinez, LJHS.