La Jolla Rough Water Swim lives up to its name


Rough conditions, resulting in a number of rescues, marked Sunday’s 79th annual La Jolla

Rough Water Swim.

Deni Cullom of Dana Point won the signature men’s Gatorman event over the 3-mile course, finishing in 1:00:03, with Alex Kostich of Los Angeles hot on his tail at 1:00:08. La Jolla’s Todd Robinson, who recently set a Catalina Channel Crossing men’s record and won the Maui Channel Swim, finished third in 1:01:25.

The women’s Gatorman title went to Dawn Heckman of Pasadena in 1:02:58. Second place finisher was Lynette Lim of Rancho Mirage; third, Jaqueline Corcoran of Los Angeles. Stacy Peterson of La Jolla finished fifth.

La Jollans Corrie Falcon and Ben Weston captured the master’s events over a 1-mile course. Jake Frese of Coronado and Vanessa Brown of La Mesa took top honors in the 250-yard juniors event for 12-under and Mita Riley of Stevenson Ranch and Samantha Harding took the 1-mile Amateur event for 12- to 18-year-olds,

For complete results go to