La Jolla Playhouse honors its own at annual gala


La Jolla Playhouse rolled out a new format for its annual gala at the Sheila and Hughes Potiker Theatre Lobby and Courtyard on March 27 to begin honoring alumni artists and benefactors who have helped put the Playhouse at the forefront of American theater.

Joan and Irwin Jacobs and their family were the 2010 inaugural benefactor honorees. The artists honored included actors Jefferson Mays, Neil Patrick Harris and Charlayne Woodard, and costume/set designer Susan Hilferty.

Proceeds from the event will benefit the Playhouse’s new play development, and educational and outreach programs. The event included cocktails and hors d’oeuvres, dinner, a theatrical presentation and afterglow with the honorees.