La Jolla museum hosts contemporary art auction to benefit programs

From MCASD Reports

Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego (MCASD) will host its ninth Biennial Art Auction, 6:30 p.m. Wednesday, April 30 at its La Jolla galleries, 700 Prospect St.

With more than 90 artworks donated by internationally recognized as well as emerging talents, auction offers the thrill of a professional live auction as it raises funds for the museum’s curatorial programs.

“The Art Auction is a highly anticipated event — it only occurs every two years and since its inception we have witnessed how it has helped build and strengthen collections in the region. All objects are selected by our curatorial team and reflect this museum’s interests,” said Hugh Davies, MCASD’s David C. Copley Director and CEO. “We have museum-quality works available for purchase, thanks to the generosity of our exhibiting artists and their galleries.”

The artworks are on exhibition now through the night of the auction. The list of art available can be viewed at

The evening will include both live (8 p.m.) and silent auction (6:30 p.m.) items presented in a celebratory atmosphere with cocktails and hors d’oeuvres, coffee and desserts. Mariana Gantus Joseph of Christie’s will conduct a live closing of select silent auction works to conclude the evening.

This year, MCASD will partner with GiveSmart to offer mobile bidding. Not only will guests at the art auction be invited to bid from mobile devices, but also anyone from any location can place bids on works. Tickets are $100 MCASD members, $125 non-members. Gold Circle tickets are $200 MCASD members, $225 non-members at (858) 454-3541 and

This year’s roster of contributing artists include John Baldessari, Georg Baselitz, Kelsey Brookes, Christo, Albert Contreras, Roman DeSalvo, Tara Donavan, Daniel Douke, James Drake, Tom Driscoll, Angela Dufresne, Richard Dupont, Shepard Fairey, Manny Farber, Vernon Fisher, Richard Fleischner, Jason Godeke, Ramiro Gomez, Joe Goode, Masood Kamandy, Alex Katz, Liza Lou, Jean Lowe, Kim MacConnel, Julie Oppermann, Kaz Oshiro, William Powhida, Marcos Ramirez ERRE, Philipp Scholz Rittermann, Steve Roden, John Valadez, Perry Vasquez, Paul Winstanley, Terry Winters, Jonas Wood, Saya Woolfalk and dozens more.