La Jolla Country Day athletics win state, section awards

It’s no secret that the fall sports season was a stellar one for La Jolla Country Day, and in recent weeks the Torreys have taken home some awards to prove it.

Football coach and athletic director Jeff Hutzler was presented with the State CIF office’s Model Coach award in a Dec. 18 ceremony during the state football bowl games at the Home Depot Center in Carson.

On Dec. 22, girls’ volleyball coach Peter Ogle was named the CIF San Diego Section Coach of the Year, while three of his players — juniors Lauren Birks, Mollie Rogers and Chloe Mathis — were named to the first-team all-section team.

Hutzler’s award is given each year to just one coach in each sport throughout California and is designed to recognize coaches who have served as positive role models in their schools and communities.

“I certainly feel honored,” Hutzler said. “To be one of 13 coaches selected in California is pretty neat. It really speaks to what we do at La Jolla Country Day every day with all of our athletes.”

Ogle’s award, and those given to his players, put an exclamation point on a stellar season that saw the Torreys win the CIF San Diego Section Division IV championship and the Division IV state title.

“If you don’t have great players, these rewards don’t come your way,” Ogle said.

“This is a pretty special group. We had a lot of good players, not just the award winners.”

Other La Jolla athletes named to first-team all-section teams included Drew Hoffenberg (Bishop’s boys’ water polo) and Courtney Hooton (Bishop’s girls’ golf). Athletes earning second-team honors included Haley Cameron (La Jolla girls’ volleyball); and Ina Kamenova, Kristen Casey and Thea Derrough (Bishop’s girls’ volleyball). The selections for football have not yet been announced.

Gregory Ball covers sports for La Jolla Light. He can be reached at