Hopes lie with Town Council’s new trustees



President, La Jolla Town Council

The La Jolla Town Council held its annual election, announcing the results at our March meeting.

Twelve excellent candidates were elected, several who were returning former Town Council members. We now have a full slate of trustees, losing four who termed-out after their first or second terms.

Those leaving after their second term, and ineligible to return, were Michele Addington, Robert Collins and John Beaver. We want to thank them for their ideas, knowledge and input over the years and especially for their service to the community on the Town Council as well as other committees on which they serve.

The new trustees will be sworn in at the April 8 meeting. Those elected for three-year terms are: Michael Dershowitz, Pancho Dewhurst, John Frangos, Steve Haskins, Glen Rasmussen, Ed Ward, Ellen Wayne and Rick Wildman. Those elected to two-year terms are Jennifer Clark, Dan Courtney, John La Raia and Ruth Yansick.

We welcome them onto the council and look forward to their contributions to the community.

On a less pleasant note, it was announced at the meeting that the Town Council finances are in dire straits, following the downturn in the economy. We obtain our operating funds through memberships, some SunSetter receipts and donations to the Town Council. We hope with the new slate of trustees that new ideas will surface to keep the council on good financial footing so we can continue to support the community with programs, information and be a conduit to the offices of the city of San Diego.