Area students win Merit scholarships

A number of local students were recently named winners in the 55th annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

Financed by about 200 companies, foundations, and other business organizations and the National Merit program, the scholarships were awarded to select students who advanced to the finalist level in the National Merit Scholarship competition and met criteria of the sponsors. Most are renewable for up to four years of undergraduate study and provide annual stipends that range from $500 to $10,000 per year. Some provide a single payment between $2,500 and $5,000.

From La Jolla High: Tiffany K. Fan, Johnson & Johnson Pharmaceutical Research and Development Scholarship, and Benjamin Cosman, Benjamin Gammage, Jack Latta, Bryce A. Mitsunaga, Nazc-a-ru H. Gonzalez, James A. Giammona, National Merit Scholarship Corp. awards.

From The Bishop’s School: Michelle J. Wu, Novartis Scholarship, and Gene B. Merewether, Naomi E. Wagner Henry K. Su, National Merit Scholarship Corp. awards.

From La Jolla Country Day School: Kees D. Thompson, National Merit Scholarship Corp.

In addition, Paul Tran from Preuss School/UCSD, recently received a Coca-Cola Scholars award.