Alzheimer’s group picks Young Scholars

Alzheimer’s Association San Diego/Imperial Chapter recently presented Young Scholar Awards to several local researchers.

Aimee Pierce, M.D.; Yu-Ling Chang, Ph.D.; and Elizabeth Murphy, all of UCSD, received $1,500 and $500 travel funds to attend a major national or international conference.

Honorable Mentions went to Davide Gianni of Scripps Research Institute; Sara Sanz-Blasco, Ph.D., of the Burnham Institute for Medical Research; and Brea Midthune and Jimcy Platholi, Ph.D., both of UCSD. They received a $500 award.

The purpose of the award program is to encourage scholars very early in their research careers to pursue their interests and investigations into the causes and ultimately the cure for Alzheimer’s disease.