National League of Young Men hosts 2016 awards dinner


The La Jolla Chapter of the National League of Young Men (NLYM) held its second Compass Dinner May 6 at the Catamaran Resort Hotel. The Class of 2018 hosted the event with Class President Hudson Liu serving as Master of Ceremonies.

Awards given included the Anchor Award to Lui, for most hours of philanthropic service; Admiral Award for 110 hours of service to Fritz Broido, Lui, Mason Matalon, Alexander Tchang and Luke Tchang; and other awards for various service hours (such as the Captain Award for 85 hours of service). The Helmsman Award for overall grade level leadership went to James Irwin, Class of 2017; Mason Matalon, Class of 2018; and Thomas Evans, Class of 2019.

NLYM is a non-profit organization for young men in grades 9-12, with a structured program for mothers and their sons that promotes the development of young men into community leaders through charitable and community service, cultural experiences and protocol education.