Salk Institute names duo to Dulbecco, Guillemin chairs

The Salk Institute on Monday announced who will hold two endowed chairs that pay tribute to Drs. Renato Dulbecco and Roger Guillemin, two of Salk's Nobel Prize winners as well as former presidents.

Professor Tony Hunter, Ph.D., was named as the inaugural holder of the Renato Dulbecco Chair and Professor Juan Carlos Izpisúa Belmonte, Ph.D., was appointed as the inaugural holder of the Roger Guillemin Chair.

Each chair holder is known for their tireless groundbreaking research that impacts lives, according to a press release.

“Hunter discovered a biological process that can trigger the uncontrolled division of cells — shedding much needed light on cancer. Izpisúa Belmonte is a trailblazer in the areas of regenerative medicine, birth defects, and gene development,” the release states.

Both the endowed chairs were established with a gift from Joan Klein Jacobs and Irwin Jacobs funding each chair at $3 million each-as part of the Jacobs Chair Challenge. Launched in 2008 with a $10 million matching fund, the Jacobs Chair Challenge encourages and enables donors to create prestigious, permanent chairs in support of senior faculty members at Salk.

On April 14, the Jacobses announced added a $5 million donation due to the successful response in donor funding of the first 10 chairs. With nine of the original research chairs already spoken for, the additional five $1 million contributions will go toward the creation of five new chairs, a challenge format designed to inspire others to give.



Be relevant, respectful, honest, discreet and responsible. Commenting Rules