Mike Eagle is new chairman of the board at La Jolla Playhouse

From La Jolla Playhouse Press release

La Jolla Playhouse announced new officers and trustees for the 2011/12 season effective April 1. These are: board chair Mike Eagle, first vice-chair Sheila M. Potiker, second vice-chair Jeffrey Ressler, third vice-chair Susan Polis Schutz, treasurer Michael Bartell and secretary Margret McBride.

Mike Eagle

Several new trustees are joining the board this year, including Paula Marie Black, Gregory Frost, Kay Gurtin, Reenie O’Dea, Richard Ulevitch and Michael Yeatts. Past trustees returning include former board chair Ralph Bryan, Florence Cohen, Joan Jacobs and Ivor Royston.

Trustees who have been elected for a second 3-year term include Gayle Allen, Linda L. Chester, Doug Dawson, Victor M. Felix and Jeanne Jones.

Mike Eagle has served on the La Jolla Playhouse Board of Trustees since 2008 and was treasurer and chair of the finance committee from 2009 to 2011. Retired from his position as vice-president of manufacturing for Eli Lilly and Company, Eagle now serves as a director for Somaxon Pharmaceuticals, Inc. and Cadence Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

He is a former board member of Kettering University (Chair 2005-2007), United Way San Diego, Indiana Manufacturers Association (Chair 2000), National Association of Manufacturers, Eiteljorg Museum of Western and Native American Art (Chair 1997–2001) and currently serves on the Board of Futures for Children.

He holds a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering from Kettering University and an MBA from the Krannert School of Management at Purdue University.

“I am honored and truly excited about serving as the chair of the Playhouse Board,” said Eagle. “The history of the Playhouse is one of great theater, as evidenced by the 30 Tony Awards over its 64 years.  We are respected throughout the country and I am committed to continuing the success that our mission asks of us.  We have a superb board and staff to work with to do just that.”

Playhouse Artistic Director Christopher Ashley commented, “Mike Eagle is a fantastic choice for the Playhouse’s new Board Chair. He has the extraordinary insight and fortitude to lead the Board, as well as a true passion for the Playhouse’s mission of producing the most adventurous new work in the theater today.”

The Playhouse board of trustees plays a critical role in ensuring that it achieves its mission of advancing theater as an art form and as a vital social, moral and political platform by providing unfettered creative opportunities for the leading artists of today and tomorrow. Toward that end, the Playhouse produces a mainstage season of six to eight innovative productions of new plays, classics and musicals – many of which are world premieres – and supports the creation of new work through commissions, readings, workshops, as well as its signature Page To Stage Play Development Program.

The full La Jolla Playhouse Board includes Gayle Allen, Weston Anson, Michael Bartell, Paula Marie Black, Barbara Bloom, Heidi Boruszewski, Ralph Bryan, Linda L. Chester, Florence Cohen, Doug Dawson, Edward A. Dennis, Ph. D., David P. Dolgen, Susan E. Dubé, Mike Eagle, Victor M. Felix, Marye Anne Fox, Ph.D., Gregory Frost, Hanna Gleiberman, Kay Gurtin, Hanaa Hensersky, Debby Jacobs, Joan Jacobs, Sheri Jamieson, Sal Janmohamed, Sheila M. Potiker, Jeanne Jones, Gail Knox, Lynelle Lynch, Margret McBride, Lucille Neeley, Reenie O’Dea, Steve Relyea, Jeffrey Ressler, Donald Rosenberg, Ivor Royston, Susan Polis Schutz, Tim Scott, Judith C. Smith, Steven M. Strauss, Richard Ulevitch, Arthur Wagner, Ph.D., Mary L. Walshok, Ph.D., Michael Yeatts and Mark Zebrowski.

Honorary Trustees include David Copley, John Goodman, Geri Ann Warnke and Robert Wright, Esq., and Emeritus Trustees include Richard Atkinson, Ph.D., Rita Bronowski (1917-2010), Milton Fredman (1920-2005), Ewart W. Goodwin, Jr., Marian Jones Longstreth (1906-1997), Ellen Revelle (1910-2009), Hughes Potiker (1925-2005), Roger Revelle (1909-1991), Willard P. VanderLaan, M.D. and Mandell Weiss (1891-1993).

The Playhouse was founded in 1947 by actors Gregory Peck, Dorothy McGuire and Mel Ferrer. Michael Rosenberg is the current managing director.

Related posts:

  1. Volunteers sought for La Jolla Playhouse partners; meeting March 7
  2. La Jolla Playhouse announces fifth show of the season: musical ‘Finding Neverland’
  3. Playhouse seeks theater troupes for its residency program
  4. La Jolla Playhouse’s new drama shows lives ‘Ruined’ by war
  5. Handful of surprises in Playhouse’s upcoming season

Short URL: http://www.lajollalight.com/?p=39761

Posted by Staff on Apr 19, 2011. Filed under A & E, Theater. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

Bottom Buttons 1

Bottom Buttons 2

Bottom Buttons 3

Bottom Buttons 4

Bottom Buttons 5

Bottom Buttons 6

RSS North Coastal News

  • Man pleads guilty in fatal Del Mar hit-and-run case April 17, 2014
    A man who drove drunk and struck a marine biologist in a crosswalk in Del Mar, then fled the scene, pleaded guilty April 16 to gross vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated and a hit-and-run allegation. Christopher ``Chip’’ Stockmeyer, 41, faces between nine and 15 years in prison when he is sentenced June 20 for the March 28 death of Rachel Morrison. […]
  • Del Mar Powerhouse 10U Champions April 17, 2014
    The Del Mar Powerhouse 10U team played two pool play games and two elimination games to go undefeated in the Triple Crown Sports San Diego Open and win the Division 1 Championship. The boys showed great determination and fight to come away victorious in elimination play and battle for the win with a one-run margin of victory for both semi-final and champions […]
  • Canyon Crest girls crack top three at Arcadia, set new school record April 17, 2014
    Several young women runners from Carmel Valley high schools raced well in the Arcadia Invitational on April 11-12 in Los Angeles. Arcadia is considered to be one of the most competitive high school track and field meets in the country, drawing both national and international athletes to compete. […]