Light writers take home San Diego Press Club honors

By Light Staff

Writers for the La Jolla Light and our sister papers got a lot of good news Tuesday at the 37th annual San Diego Press Club awards ceremony.

Lynne Friedmann, a Solana Beach-based science writer who writes the weekly Research Report, received one of the four top honors during the event at the San Diego Hall of Champions: the “Andy Mace Award for Contributions in Public Relations. In addition to her work for the MainStreet San Diego publications, she is the editor of ScienceWriters magazine and recently wrote the “Science Public Relations and Social Responsibility “ chapter in “Science and the Media,” published by the American Academy of Arts & Sciences. As a consultant to the American Association for the Advancement of Science, she revamped the news briefing operation and moderated more than 350 press conferences.

Friedmann also took home first place for non-daily newspapers for science/technology writing and a third place for a health and medicine story for work done for the Light. She was also honored for work done for trade publications and magazines, and a travel website.

Inga, the La Jolla resident who writes “Let Inga Tell You” for the Light, received a second place award for humor writing and three third place awards (humor, column and essay/commentary/opinion).

Diana Saenger took top theater review honors for her observations on the La Jolla Playhouse production of “Bonnie & Clyde.”

Education writer Marsha Sutton took home top awards for education writing and essay/commentary/opinion for stories published in the Del Mar Times, Solana Beach Sun, Carmel Valley News and Rancho Santa Fe Review.

Among her work were pieces about teen drinking following the death of a Torrey Pines student. She was also recognized with second place in the criminal justice category and received two third place awards for website work.

Joe Tash took the top spot in general news for a story published in the Review and another top award for a magazine profile, while Arthur Lightborun placed second in the profile category for another Review story.

No related posts.

Short URL:

Posted by Staff on Oct 20, 2010. Filed under La Jolla, News. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

1 Comment for “Light writers take home San Diego Press Club honors”

  1. Nancy Kelleher

    Congratulations. Just wanted to let you know that "Science and the Media," and Lynne Friedmann's article are available online at:

Leave a Reply

La Jolla Community Calendar


Bottom Buttons 1

Bottom Buttons 2

Bottom Buttons 3

Bottom Buttons 4

Bottom Buttons 5

Bottom Buttons 6

RSS North Coastal News